For so long I have been severely overweight, and it’s really bothering me big time. I don’t want to spend the rest of my life feeling like this. I want to be healthy and happy, and be able to do things I haven’t been able to do for decades. I have started so many diets, and every Monday, or the 1st day of the month, I start a new one. It might last a day, a half a day, a week, and then I relapse again. I don’t exercise; I mainly eat and watch telly. And this is what I want to stop. I want to be active. But I often have this voice in my head that says ‘I can’t be bothered’. It seems to be very difficult to shut it up.

I would like to lose 45kg. I know that’s a massive task, but I need to start from somewhere, so if I could just lose one kilo at the time, I’m sure I could reach the 45 mark at some point. But what’s different this time? I don’t know. I’m not sure I feel any more determined than before. How long will it last this time? A day? Half a day?

Tomorrow morning I shall do the measurements, and go to the gym.

